Community Speakers

At each class, engaging speakers, panelists, and involved community members or officials, share their unique experiences and expertise. Class members interact with the facilitators through fieldwork assignments and projects.

In the past several years, a number of community leaders have been among the speakers and presenters at LSRV class sessions. Community leaders, like some listed below, volunteer their time towards our program, and come share their unique experiences and expertise:


Lloyd Avram
Chevron Corporation

Stephen Beinke
President, Blackhawk Corporation

Joe Calabrigo
Town Manager, Town of Danville

Tori Campbell
Reporter/Anchor, KTVU Channel 2 Television

Paul Campos
Negotiator, Bay Area Building Industry Association

Joey Combs
Social Media, Clorox Corporation

Bill Coy
Director, Leadership Learning

Mark DeSaulnier
Senator, California 7th District

Matt DeVane, MD
Director, Cardiovascular Consultants Group

Colleen Edwards
President, EMC Creative

Pat Edwards
City Clerk, City of San Ramon

Rob Ewing
City Attorney, Town of Danville

Scott Gerbert
Student Services, SRVUSD

Vince Golla
Director, Kaiser Permanente

Scott Holder
Retired Chief of Police, City of San Ramon

Jackie Holmes
Founder and Director, Casa Serena

Rachel Hurd
Board of Trustees, SRVUSD

Denise Jennison
Board of Trustees, SRVUSD

Carol Johnson
Planning Manager, City of Concord

Mike Wright
Executive Director, Local Reuse Authority

Beverly Lane
Board of Directors, East Bay Regional Park District

Chris McKenzie
Executive Director, League of California Cities

Alex Mehran
President, Sunset Development

David Mills
Editor, The Patch

Ken Mintz
Board of Trustees, SRVUSD

Brad Morris
Program Manager of Recreation, City of San Ramon

Lina Oubre
Dean of the College of Business, SFSU

Mark Peterson
District Attorney, Contra Costa County

Mary Piepho
Supervisor, Contra Costa County

Ezra Rapport
Executive Director, ABAG

April Rovero
President, NCAPDA

Susanna Schlendorf
Former Mayor, Town of Danville

Mary Shelton
Superintendent, San Ramon Valley Unified School District

Cynthia Shon
Director, Corporate Games

Steve Simpkins
Chief of Police, Town of Danville

Susan Stauter
Artistic Director, San Francisco Unified School District

Karen Stepper
Councilmember, Town of Danville

H. Abram Wilson
Former Mayor, City of San Ramon

Amy Worth
Councilmember, City of Orinda